127 Hours: brilliant one-man performance

There have been songs in film that are so strong, they make whatever is on screen more powerful.  Some Beatles songs can do it, and I think Band of Horses has that power as well.

That song (The Funeral) is used in the trailer for 127 hours.

The reviews mention that James Franco gives one of the greatest performances, ever.  I think they are right.  I didn’t like him in the Spider Man movies; I loved him in Pineapple Express (I didn’t even know it was the same snot-nosed brat from Spider Man until someone told me!).  James Franco was incredible in this film.  The music, sound effects, cinematography, lighting, and everything else was spot on.  It has some tough-to-watch parts for sure, but man is it worth it.

I saw The King’s Speech as well.  It was very good, but I’m not sure if it quite deserved the Oscar over 127 Hours or Inception.  It was pretty close in my mind though, so it’s not exactly a tragedy.

127 Hours runs you through some intense emotions.  I was jumping out of my seat when he’s biking through the desert – I wanted to be there!  I laughed, I cried, blah blah blah.  The movie just knocked me on my ass, and it was a good thing.

If you go watch it, during the tough-to-watch parts, just remember everything is going to be okay.

This entry was posted in Jeremy Henrickson, Movie Review. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 127 Hours: brilliant one-man performance

  1. Erin says:

    I didn’t really care one way or another about James Franco until I watched Freaks and Geeks (for me the real allure of that Spiderman trilogy is Bruce Campbell) and now I like him a lot. I’m also desperate to see the King’s Speech. I’ve loved Geoffrey Rush since Shine!

Leave a Reply

